“i love you, mama”

“i love you, mama”, originally uploaded by fingerpistol.

HA! a picture! that makes me official, dammit!

so yeah, this is my very first cross-stitch, as well as my very first (dear sweet mcshizzy, please let this actually be an) original idea. i recorded myself saying “i love you, mama”, then converted the soundwave into a graphable pattern, which i stitched up for my mom.

i actually made the thing a few months ago, but i have problems with cameras. (they don’t like me, and i return the sentiment.)

it’s maybe 2″ wide by 1-1/2″ tall, done in simple red floss. at the time, i was unaware that when cross-stitching, you are supposed to cross all of your x’s the same way, so that’s fucked up. but otherwise, i’m still pretty pleased with how it turned out.

i came up with the idea when i was trying to think of original items i could craft to sell on etsy. i’m going to start working up a list of different phrases and sayings, and eventually i’ll start working on them, but i am just way too smooshed for time with christmas coming up. so it’s gonna be a while.

oh well. at least my mom likes it. (and that’s really all that matters.)

8 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    […] Fingerpistol used her roommates’ music recording software to record herself saying “I love you, Mama” and then made a cross stitch pattern of the resulting sound wave.  What a way to make a sweet cross stitch that’s also cool. […]

  2. 2

    Giggly Mama said,

    That’s perfectly sweet. :)

  3. 4

    Dan Hardick said,

    Hello, just wanted to say I love the name of your blog. It is also the name of my band. Here’s our website: http://www.fingerpistol.com and our facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/fingerpistol

  4. 8

    […] second piece I made for Frank was an idea I thought was original, but I found another one here: [link] :/ We’ll just say that great minds think […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

